Tag Archive for bye bye birdie

Go Retro with LHS Drama’s “Bye Bye Birdie” – special Autism-friendly performance added

LITTLETON, MA: Flash back to the early 1960s and spend some time with Littleton High School Drama as they visit mid-Century Ohio in the classic musical “Bye Bye Birdie!” Performances run April 7 and 8 at 7:30pm; April 9 at 3:00pm, in the Littleton Performing Arts Center at 56 King Street. Tickets are $14 reserved; $12 general admission, available at the door or through MKTIX.com.

Sponsored by ArtsNashoba, LHS Drama’s final dress rehearsal on April 6 at 7:00pm is an Autism/Special Needs-friendly performance. It is specifically adapted for this special population, their families, their educators and caregivers. Performances are designed and intended for those who are on the autism spectrum or who have other sensory issues. At this performance, the theater environment will be altered, providing a safe, sensory-friendly, comfortable and judgment-free space that is welcoming for all. Reservations for this show must be authorized by ArtsNashoba’s AF Coordinator, Bonnie Marchesani by calling (978) 842-1255, or via email at info@artsnashoba.org.

Conrad Birdie, the biggest rock and roll star of the 60s, has been drafted! Aspiring songwriter Albert Peterson is convinced he can make his fortune and marry his girlfriend (and secretary) Rosie if they get Conrad on the Ed Sullivan show. All he has to do is give a girl one last kiss goodbye before he joins the ranks. Easy – in theory. Of course, Albert’s mother will do anything to break Albert and Rosie up. Mr. MacAfee wants NOTHING to do with young delinquent rock stars. Add in Sweet Apple, Ohio high-school steadies Kim and Hugo, a plethora of star struck teens and one very angry Father, and hilarity ensues!

A musical inspired by the phenomenon of Elvis Presley and his draft notice into the Army, “Bye Bye Birdie” is composed by Charles Strouse (“Annie,” “Rags,” “Applause”), with lyrics by Lee Adams and libretto by Michael Stewart. It is a very family-friendly show with music that will have you tapping your toes throughout.

Featuring nearly 50 students from Littleton High School and Littleton Middle School, “Bye Bye Birdie!” runs April 7 and 8 at 7:30pm; April 9 at 3:00pm, in the Littleton Performing Arts Center at 56 King Street. Tickets are $14 reserved; $12 general admission, available at the door or through MKTIX.com.

Bye Bye Birdie auditions!

[See the Scores page for the music sheets, available until auditions]

Hi all –

JulieAnn and I are excited to be working on Bye Bye Birdie with everyone!

The tryouts are December 18 @ 6:30 (at the MIDDLE SCHOOL), and December 20th @ 6:30 (at the HIGH SCHOOL). You should plan on attending BOTH evenings, as we will be using both nights for music and acting (and possibly some dance/movement). Sunday will be starting with music, however, so here is what we’re looking for (all the music is here):

BOYS:
– Interested in ONLY ensemble: “One Last Kiss” – beginning to letter D

– Interested in ANY role: “One Last Kiss” – beginning to letter D,
AND “Lot of Livin” (beginning to letter E) AND “Rosie” (letters B to G). You will choose the first song, and then will be asked to sing the second song.

GIRLS:
– Interested in ONLY ensemble: “Penn Station Transition” – whole page

– Interested in ANY role: “Penn Station Transition” – whole page
AND “How Lovely to be a Woman” (both pages) AND “What Did I Ever See…” (both pages). You will choose the first song, and then will be asked to sing the second song.

Email me with any questions, and please spread the word! We want to have a great turnout for this fun musical.

Mr. Bergman

Auditions and rehearsal schedule for Bye Bye Birdie!

I will move the rehearsal schedule to the Rehearsal page once the Fall play is done…

Auditions: December 18 LMS Café and Dec. 20 LHS Auditorium 6:30-9:30 pm (Note – different locations on different days!)

All rehearsals will be 6:30-9:30 except where noted.
Tuesday, January 3
Sunday, January 8
Tuesday, January 10
Sunday, January 15
Tuesday, January 17
Sunday, January 22
Tuesday, January 24
Sunday, January 29
Tuesday, January 31
Thursday, February 2
Sunday, February 5
Tuesday, February 7
Thursday, February 9
Sunday, February 12
Tuesday, February 14
Thursday, February 16
Sunday, February 26
Tuesday, February 28
Thursday, March 2
Monday, March 6
Tuesday, March 7
Thursday, March 9
Monday, March 13
Tuesday, March 14 at LMS
Thursday, March 16 at LMS
Monday, March 20
Tuesday, March 21
Thursday, March 23
Sunday, March 26
Monday, March 27
Tuesday, March 28
Thursday, March 30
Saturday, April 1 -TECH –TBD
Sunday, April 2- TECH 6pm-10pm
Monday, April 3- TECH 6pm-10pm
Tuesday, April 4- TECH 6pm-10:30pm
Thursday, April 6- DRESS 6pm-10:30pm
Friday, April 7- Performance (7:30pm)
Saturday, April 8- Performance (7:30pm)
Sunday, April 9- Performance (3pm)